Question Regarding Laptop Storage

Home :: Producer tips and DAW information :: Question Regarding Laptop StorageReply
Question Regarding Laptop Storage
Posted on: 10.09.2013 by Layla Contrares
(I apologize if this thread is in the wrong section) Hey, I'm extremely new to music production/performing and I'd just like to ask a question that I couldn't seem to find an answer to.

Until I can afford a full-fledged desktop for music production, I'll be using a T420 (maybe T430s) ThinkPad. I'd like to swap out the hard drive with an SSD and I'm wondering: Is a 128-256GB SSD good enough for light, minimalistic hip-hop beat production PLUS performing? Or should I opt for a 500GB SSD?

Keep in mind that I will not be loading this computer with a lot of programs.

Any help is appreciated!
Layla Contrares
(I apologize if this thread is in the wrong section) Hey, I'm extremely new to music production/performing and I'd just like to ask a question that I couldn't seem to find an answer to.

Until I can afford a full-fledged desktop for music production, I'll be using a T420 (maybe T430s) ThinkPad. I'd like to swap out the hard drive with an SSD and I'm wondering: Is a 128-256GB SSD good enough for light, minimalistic hip-hop beat production PLUS performing? Or should I opt for a 500GB SSD?

Keep in mind that I will not be loading this computer with a lot of programs.

Any help is appreciated!
Trey Brune
If you can't afford a 500GB+ SSD, then there's nothing wrong with a 7200RPM HD. It's still reliable, and extremely cheap in comparison, so you can stock up on storage. All the speed in the world won't help you if you can't fit everything you need on the drive.
Klara Kinnebrew
[QUOTE=Tarekith;649164]...personally I like having everything right where I need it at all times.[/QUOTE)