S4's 1/4" TRS Outputs

S4's 1/4" TRS Outputs
Posted on: 25.07.2012 by Gilda Schreider
Ok so I was having a discussion with the sound guy at a local church he saw I was running an S4 and was real interested everything was going smoothly untill he saw the outputs RCA and the 1/4" output 1 and output 2

He said I should be running both outputs when connecting to my sound system and not just output 1 or 2, he also said that the 1/4" cable I got was no good it was stereo and I was plugging into there patch panal that ran to a board. He said when running 1/4" I shoudl always run mono and set my settings to mono

He said even when I run my powered sound system KW's I should run both 1/4" and be running mono

That being said is he right I thought running one 1/4" out to there panal was ok and always thought the other output 2 would be for a controler or other options

Let me explain before I get bashed... Yes I should know my craft wich I yes I am still learning I used to DJ back in the Day and havnt touched anything since the my 1200's in 2000 everything went digital and now yes I am computer geek this is till all chinease to me I even just started getting a calibration message pop up that I know what its for but after that the computer and the S4 was not talking....

So yes I am learning reading and I am truly at my very basics of the S4 and hopfuly soon be able to master this sexy beast

Thanks for all your help in advance
Leeanna Ayla
Originally Posted by snoemu5a
"You could have corrected me in a less smart ass way"
I'm sorry. Smart ass is the only way I know how :P
You have balanced outs that utilize a TRS connector, but they are not the same thing. Secondly, balanced cables are less susceptible to interference, but not because they have a "grounded shielding" as you clumsily (and wrongly) put it.
Simply removing the items in red would make you seem smart and not a smart ass.
Rey Holubar