DIY-midifighter (umc32 inside)

Home :: Reviews of DJ equipment :: DIY-midifighter (umc32 inside)Reply
DIY-midifighter (umc32 inside)
Posted on: 31.03.2010 by robin loo
hey there..

finally, after more than a year and a half wishing to do it, i built my own midi controller. it has 16 arcade buttons, 8 knobs, 2 faders, 2 lit buttons and a membrane poti.

the arcade buttons send out the same messages as the MF, so i can easily use the DJTT mapping.

the case is wooden and actually an old box for microscope slides from my mum
drilled the holes and got them in shape with a dremel. since i have no experience in planing a surface like this in illustrator for example, i did everything more or less by eye. so it's pretty ghetto and some things just went a little bit wrong

the costs were:
umc32 (sparkfun): ~7€ (payed the shipping only, cause i scored on the free givaway day )
softpot: ~15€
breakout board and button pads: 6€
fader: ~10€
potis: 9,60€
knobs: 12€ (still did not find the right ones )
arcade buttons: 25€
a lot of small stuff like wires, leds, usb adapter: ~30€

so a total of around 115€/150$

the two faders still are not working, cause as soon as i activate them in the umc-configure tool they send out random messages as if they weren't connected :-(

here are some more pics:
http://yfrog.com/jbcimg2553jx
robin loo
Originally Posted by 32Digits
where did you get the arc buttons from? 16 for 25euro's?
bought them from the DJTT shop

Originally Posted by troopa
How have you set it so you can use the midifighter maps? This is exactly what i want to do, can it be done with a teensy?
yes, the umc comes with a configuration software, so configure each output.
i am pretty sure it can be done with a teensy as well..
robin loo
hey there..

finally, after more than a year and a half wishing to do it, i built my own midi controller. it has 16 arcade buttons, 8 knobs, 2 faders, 2 lit buttons and a membrane poti.