CallDom's Setup

CallDom's Setup
Posted on: 30.12.2011 by Nita Eviston
Hey Guys,

this is a little evolution of my setup, starting with back in 2008-2009 with a Numark Stealth Control and djio on Traktor.

shortly after finding djranking s i grabbed a nano pad so i could start messing around with cue points and some effect mapping

In April 2010 i bought myself a pretty rad birthday present in the form of 2x Numark V7s, and a very temporary Numark crappy 2-channel mixer.

I and many others were waiting for the Numark X7 to come out, and when it never did i jumped on a DDM4000 for pretty cheap.

The V7s are amazing, however were not practical to take to a club, where we would usually just be using a standard 1000s and 800 mixer combo, soon after i started playing clubs i got a MBP, and for when i wanted to take the laptop to the club i got Traktor Scratch Pro 2 and an X1, and sort of went back to the stealth control to get back into the Traktor workflow..

I believe it was really the Control Vinyls that came with TSP2 that got me believeing about turntables, using traktor at a club with cdjs was becoming to much of a hassle and i would usually just take cds, so i decided to sell the V7s to a mate and grabbed some Stanton Srt8-150s about a month or 2 ago.

i feel like the vinyl is a way more tactile way of controlling TSP2 than cds, even though i have only had the turntables a bit i am already finding that i prefer it even over just cds at the club.

I have been following the Setup threads pretty closely, and the whole Ikea idea seemed pretty damn awesome to me, even more so after the article came out. So for Christmas this year i got some Behringer Truth Monitors, and a trip up to Ikea to grab some bits and pieces. Yesterday Dad came over and we built this together. I am pretty in love with it, and am only taking a quick break to share this with you guys before jumping back on for the rest of the day. A few build pics and the final setup below...